Tags

, , ,

If I had a mother I would have been able to go for the Road Runner.

My sister decided that she and my brother were for the Road Runner and that I was to go for the Coyote. No matter how much I struggled or complained it made no difference. She would not change her mind. I was for the Coyote and that was that. Even when I watched the cartoon without them there I knew that I was for the Coyote. I was desperate to go for the Road Runner.

The Road Runner was fast and clever and went “Beep, beep”. The Road Runner always won. He never got blown up, run over, fell off a cliff or had dynamite explode in his face. The Road Runner did things with panache. Unlike the Coyote. He was a grave disappointment. The Coyote was out-smarted out-played and out run by the Road Runner. He was often beaten by his own ineptitude.

I wanted to be the Road Runner.

Inevitably in my life I was the Coyote. I fell over, forgot things, broke things and occasionally blew things up. I never ran with elegance and I never got things right on my first go.

Only now with the benefit of hindsight can I see the important thinks Wile E. Coyote can teach me.

Be creative in solving problems. Work hard. Always try your best. Make the most of what you have.

Never ever give up.